Police Department

“To Serve, Protect, and Defend”
The City of Southside Police Department

Mission Statement

The Southside Police Department is dedicated to providing the highest quality of police service and in being actively responsive to the changing needs of our community and to its citizens.

Although the protection of human life and property is our highest priority, we are also committed to preserving the constitutional rights of every citizen and to enforcing the laws of the State of Alabama and of the United States of America.

As members of the Southside Police Department we will demonstrate integrity and honor in all of our actions. We will treat each other with dignity and respect, protecting the rights and well-being of all individuals. We are bound by the highest standards of accountability and are committed to being loyal to the community, the department and its members, and to the standards of our profession.


Established in 1957, the Southside Police Department began operating on a part-time basis with fewer than four employees. Today, the department has a force of thirteen sworn officers, and five civilian support staff. In addition, the Police Department has two full-time detectives, two school resource officers, and one civilian animal control officer.

Police Chiefs

Graham Thornton        Town MarshallMay 1957
Aaron Cochran            Town MarshallNovember 1958
J.L. McGlaugnOctober 1968
Hoyt TurnerJune 1977
Bill StewartAugust 1978
Johnnie HuieJune 1981
Ed PriceOctober 1992
Steve TerrellOctober 1996
Wayne GarmonOctober 2000
Tim DiggsMay 2002
Chris JonesAugust 2011 - May 2020
Blake RagsdaleMay 2020

Officers Who Are Sworn With Arrest Powers

Blake RagsdalePolice Chief
Clay JohnsonCaptain/Patrol Division
Jason PattyLieutenant/Patrol Division
Jay FreemanCaptain/Investigator
Brandon GuffeySergeant/Patrol Division
Bryan BellPatrolman
Drew WorksSergeant/Patrol Division
Baylon FryPatrolman
Colton HardenInvestigator
Jordan RigganPatrolman
Brian BoatwrightPatrolman
Eric HawkinsPatrol/SRO SHS
Jeremy JohnsonPatrol/SRO SES
Wade BucknerPatrolman/Part-Time

Civilian Personnel

Patrick HuseltonRecords Clerk
Kim HillAdministrative Assistant
Vegan HigginbothamAnimal Control Officer